Identifying predatory publishers

This question is for those in academia - how do you identify predatory publishers/journals/etc? I administer a scholarship competition that relies heavily on the applicant's publishing record. The higher-ups really want to crack down on students who knowing publish with predatory journals, so I get the task of going through the applications and identifying the predatory publications. Of course, I haven't been given a lot of guidance on this, just the suggestion to start with Beall's and go from there, but I'm an administrator, not an academic, and I wouldn't know a predatory journal if it bit me on the arse.

So, I'm reaching out to the vast pool of knowledge that is Halforums. Can anyone help me with this?

I like the word "predatory". :)

What do they mean by predatory though? On whom?
Basically as defined in the Wikipedia link I provided:

"Predatory open-access publishing is an exploitative open-access academic publishing business model that involves charging publication fees to authors without providing the editorial and publishing services associated with legitimate journals (open access or not). The idea that they are "predatory" is based on the view that academics are tricked into publishing with them, though some authors may be aware that the journal is poor quality or even fraudulent. New scholars from developing countries are said to be especially at risk of being misled by predatory practices."