NaNoWriMo 2012

Status
Not open for further replies.
Who's doing it this year (besides BananaHands) ??

For those of you who aren't familiar, NaNoWriMo is a (free) event that happens every November in which participants try to write a 50,000+ word novel in one month. It's a lot of fun, and usually November is by far my most productive writing month of the year.

I've been doing NaNoWriMo since 2004. I think this is going to be my first 100k year -- I've tried a few times, and I've gotten close a few times, but I've ultimately fallen short.

So who else is in? I know there's a few of you who have done it in the past.

Dave

Staff member
I try this every year and never have any support at home. I thought I was last year but then my mom had her stroke and the year went to shit fast. I'll probably try it again this year. "The Chronicles of the Third" is dying to be written.

I'd love to write stuff but I can't think of what to put in a novel. A steady diet of TV and Internet has rotted my brain.

Now that my novel is all written, I think I'll use the month of November to try and finish my first edit on it. Work on getting my query letter ready.

Zappit

Staff member
I've wanted to try this for a few years, but haven't gotten the guts to make a serious run at it. I've been a comics writer, mostly, never really diving into the realm of prose. Got a couple ideas, though...

Okay, I'm going to take a shot here at overcoming those writer's nerves - is this opening bearable, a writing style you could stomach for an entire novel?

Opening