[Question] Scars

Status
Not open for further replies.
My 20 month old acquired a half-inch split to his forehead last night (over his right eyebrow), resulting in 3 stitches. My wife has a very personal history with facial scarring and felt like she didn't insist enough on calling the plastic surgeon from the hospital a town over to do a better job on the cut than the ER doc. Our primary physician looked at it today and said the reduction in swelling has probably contorted the cut a bit, which might mean an uglier scar than if it were stitched straighter. We're waiting to hear from the plastic surgeon if it isn't too late.

I am not too worried but my wife is feeling extra guilty about the ramifications of his eventual scar. Parents, what are your experiences with forehead or facial scars? Non-parents, do you have a visible scar, or did you used to and it faded? I'd love to hear your stories.

This one time I was an attorney working a case against a known mobster. He somehow sneaked acid into the courtroom and threw it at me. Thanks to Batman, it only got one side of my face, but...

Wait, no. Hang on.

So my brother was out "helping" dad shovel snow when he was 3. Dad swings his metal shovel a bit too hard and bamf! Nice little quarter inch line in Sam's forehead. My mother insisted he should go to the hospital for stitches, Dad insisted he would be fine. Sometime later, during a routine physical, the doctor said "You know, you probably should have had this stitched up."

Anyway, it disappeared by the time he was 11 or 12. Which was too bad because I couldn't make fun of the 'dent' in his forehead anymore.

I got an early scars that is only really noticeable because my eyebrow doesn't grow in that part anymore. The skin itself is pretty indistinguishable unless I really furrow my brow.

BananaHands

Staff member