Export thread

Building a Render Rig

David

David

I have less than $1000 to put together a decent computer for 3D rendering and photoshop/flash artwork.

I already have these components I can harvest from my current computer:

GPU: PNY XLR8 9800 GTX (It's a couple years old and will MAYBE have to replace. Been having occasional crashing issues that I haven't yet ruled out the GPU causing)
PSU: EarthWatts 500W

Possible components I'm looking at getting:
CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9103858&cm_re=six_core-_-19-103-858-_-Product

MoBo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138318

Memory:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820313121

HDD:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136533

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116986

I've never built a computer before and just know the basics I learned in my PC repair class. I just went with what wasn't too expensive and seemed like it would all work together. Any suggestions or something I'm missing? Will I need a better cooling system than the fan that comes with the CPU? I've still got a bit of room in the budget if there's something I'd do better not to go cheap on. Hoping to have something leftover to get a second monitor.

Azurephoenix

Azurephoenix

What kind of 3d rendering are you referring to? Are you just talking about modeling and the performance of your 3d program while you're modelling (ie what you're seeing on the screen as you work) or are you talking about rendering fully animated scenes into movie files?

For actual final rendering of 3d stuff into video footage... the CPU is by far the most critical part (actually the GPU basically does squat all in this sort of rendering). CPU and RAM... get the best CPU with the most cores you can afford and load up on RAM.

Photoshop rendering will still be mostly CPU based but I believe CS3 and CS4 versions actually have code which can use your video card to help out.