Export thread

Chrom and Media Player

Chibibar

Ok. I'm stumped. I have a co-worker who has Chrome. When she clicks on a wmv link (in email) it doesn't play after opening chrome (bad address or something) but when I copy the address and paste directly in the media player URL, it works.

I scour the net and it says something about plugins (which I reinstall) and it still doesn't work. Any tips?
thanks.

SpecialKO

SpecialKO

When you say it doesn't play, what do you mean exactly? I'm not an expert, but I do know that Chrome does not have particularly good file support.

Have you tried this? http://www.google.com/support/chrome/bin/answer.py?answer=95697

Chibibar

that was the document I used :)
What I mean by won't play, is that when I click a link, it will launch media player and then say something like "cannot play, bad link" (it is end user issue) but if you copy and paste the link TO media player, it works.

SpecialKO

SpecialKO

I dunno, that's weird.

Ravenpoe

Ravenpoe

Can you post the link in question?

drifter

drifter

When I click on the link, Chrome automatically downloads it for me. However, instead of downloading the actual .wmv, it downloads the link and saves it as lecroy.wmv. Same thing happened to me in Firefox.

This is the data in the file that downloads:

[Reference]
Ref1=http://video.dcccd.edu/lecroy/lecroy.wmv?MSWMExt=.asf
Ref2=http://144.162.197.177:80/lecroy/lecroy.wmv?MSWMExt=.asf

.asf files are streaming only, correct? Maybe that has something to do with it?

Chibibar

Yea this is our video streaming server.

drifter

drifter

Well, I found one solution: download this. It's a WMP plug-in for Firefox that lets you stream in-browser. However, it also lets you stream in Chrome as well (tested on my comp, using FF 3.6.15 and Chrome 10.0.648.127). Hope that helps.

Chibibar

I'll give it a whirl. Thanks.

drifter

drifter