[Question] Need to blow the rust off my SQL skills

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, so due to some... interesting developments at work (that's interesting in the ancient Chinese curse sense of the word, see below), it would be really good for me to blow the rust off of my SQL skills, in a Business Intelligence capability sense. My wife and I may be going from "We'll move this July, no wait, we don't have money, we'll move next July" to "We gone, yo" within the next month. I can either be extremely pissed/depressed at this possible turn of events, or I can see it as an opportunity to move on to bigger and better things, and my Wellbutrin is allowing me to see it as an opportunity.

Now, I have probably 2 years of experience with SQL with a heavy daily amount of use. I know the language but it's been 2.5 years since I've used it, and I've forgotten a fair few things that are pretty important. However, I know my ability to relearn software/languages/etc., and I'm confident that given a couple of weeks of practice, I should be good to go.

My problem is, I need a large data-set to practice on. I can download Microsoft SQL Server Express and Visual Studio whatever's current and build an interface if need be, but does anyone have any sample data-sets, or know where one can be obtained, that I can practice pulling various sets of queries off of?

So, to make a very long story less long, I'm a vendor working at Microsoft, for a company called Society Consulting. Society used to be called Pentad, and it was an awesome company. Since the switch to Society, when they "merged" with another "company" and the sole employee of the other company, the company that had been in existence for a grand total of 1 month, miraculously became the President of the newly merged company, things have gone to shit pretty fast - for the employees, at least.