So I'm an amatuer steampunk fantasy author....

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

WolfOfOdin

Here's a short excerpt, mind you there is still heavy amounts of magic in play :p

The black blade scythed down in a wide arc, the edge letting out a keening shriek as it cleaved air, then armor, bone and flesh. Barbs spread out from the vile weapon, gorging on the blood and misery pouring forth. The wielder choked out a hollow laugh, kicking the thrashing body from his sword. The sodden heap of shredded flesh had once been a general...now he was simply more food for Ahrd Khlaad.

With a grace that seemed alien in the armor-encased figure, he turned and casually speared another soldier, reaching out with a gauntleted hand to crush another's skull to a crimson pulp. He moved as if two seconds ahead of time, a twisting, serpentine dance that stepped delicately between the stab of a spear, the flight of an arrow and the thrust of a sword. Two points of smoldering light burned within the ebon helm, glaring with the fire of twin dying suns. An eternity to him, mere moments to the rest and a circle of butchered meat surrounded him, their blood providing the arid soil its first drink in over fifty moons. The tip of his weapon met the ground, armored hands resting on the pommel as he surveyed the scene below him. His forces had torn through the Duchy's forces with daemonic glee, reveling in the wanton slaughter. The Corpse-Prince would smile on him this day.