The salary requirements question

Status
Not open for further replies.

fade

Staff member
So, I've been asked by a potential employer for my salary requirements. I don't really know how to respond to that question. I've looked for advice online, and everyone seems to say a) don't answer the question b) give a range or c) turn it back around on the employer. I would like to do b) because this employer actually gave a reason for asking. He is replacing someone, and is trying to see if I'm too expensive. Here's some problems I'm having.

1) I'm in academia. I can't really use my current salary as a comparison because assistant profs, being probationary, make nothing. I can use my salary from when I worked in the private sector, but that was in expensive Boston.

2) I'm a geophysicist with like a decade of experience. According to Salary.com, that makes me quite pricey. The main reason for that is that the primary employer of geophysicists is the petroleum industry. I consistently wave bye-bye to my own master's students who have contracts that are 2-3 times what I make as an academic. The job, though asking for a geophysicist, is more in the engineering field, and they don't make quite as much. We're like...the bards of the science world. We do a little of everything, nobody wants to be one, but everybody wants one around.

3) The job posting was B.S., advanced degree preferred, which reads as "we hiring cheap, but we'll take an MS or PhD if you'll work for peanuts" to me.

4) How useful/accurate/trustworthy are sites like Salary.com or Glassdoor.com when it comes to researching stuff like this?

How would you answer the question. I don't want to end up either pricing myself out of the position OR selling myself short.

Thanks Forum.

I answer it by stating that it is negotiable based upon the entire compensation package.

ie: more vacation, benefits and perks I will accept less salary