Export thread

Video Camera?

Element 117

I'm looking for something that outputs to HardDrive, obviously, and can record High Definition with the option to add a microphone instead of the built in camera. I can afford basically any camera on the market, but a camera meant for hollywood pro journalists with the corresponding steep learning curve is not desired. I'm a newbie with film editing, so would like something that's easy to point and film, but also gives me the options I want to learn about later? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thread Necromancer

Thread Necromancer

Are you going to be tripod mounting or hand filming primarily? What is your desired release type, ie, home videos, work release info vids, youtube/web videos, large theatrical release? Want something that is great for a specific purpose or one that is good for a variety of uses? -edit- how much control and editing do you want to be doing? Aside from just laying an external sound source, do you want to be splicing and cutting scenes with advanced effects or just filming an event with not much major editing? Putting in special effects and etc?

I'm not trying to pry into your purpose, not my business, just physhing for a few more details to try and guide a little bit better. (although I admit most of my knowledge is dated)

Element 117

full blown editing inside Final cut pro. Not wide release, but something that trends towards professional film making rather than youtube flip cams? tripod and handheld 30/70

Thread Necromancer

Thread Necromancer

LOL, ok, so I typed all this up before I checked the link you added to your OP. I was actually looking at the "little brother" of the camera you linked to as a suggestion (about 4 grand cheaper as well). Since I typed it all up I'm going to post it anyway as I still think it's about the best fit for you if you really do want to be able to explore those high end functions down the line.