English grammar question

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, someone came to me and asked me about an English sentence she saw in an English as a second language textbook. The sentence is:

"There is no mother but loves her children."

Apparently this means "There is no mother who does not love her children."

While I think of myself as a native English speaker, I've never seen this sort of sentence structure before. If I had to use "but" in this sentence, I'd want to say something like "There are no mothers but those who love their children."

Does this sort of structure actually exist? Perhaps an archaic usage that's not commonly seen now? Or is the textbook wrong?

North_Ranger

Staff member
As a soon-to-be-fully-qualified EFL teacher, I would say that sentence is wrong.

At least I've personally never witnessed such a sentence structure.

I've seen but used like that before, but it's a bit archaic.
if you throw the word "that" in there, it makes more sense if you're not used to the word used that way: "There is no mother but that loves her children." The word "that" is not a strict requirement, however.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/but

It shouldn't be in an ESL text, though, because it's a very rare usage.

if you throw the word \"that\" in there, it makes more sense if you're not used to the word used that way: \"There is no mother but that loves her children.\" The word \"that\" is not a strict requirement, however.

^ Pretty much this.

I've read sentences like that, but don't think I've ever heard anyone use it in conversation.

Double agreed that it shouldn't be in any esl book. A native english speaker may know what that means, but it's going to sound very odd and archaic.

They'd probably think you're quoting a bad proverb.

Zappit

Staff member