LICD - Lar to re-draw first 125 comics

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ross

Staff member
From a mass e-mail that Sohmer sends to the people on his forum:

How about I tell you about a little secret project that Lar and I have been working on for a few months now, which should debut in 2010. Between ourselves, we’ve decided to have Lar re-draw the first 125 LICD Strips, all the one done by Trevor, and release them in a special book entitled: Least I Could Do: Black & White.

This should be interesting...

Hmm. Not sure I like this or not.
Sure. I never did like the art in the original strips enough that I'd read them more than once, but it does feel a bit unfair to the original artist.

How is it unfair? He's not taking down the strips from the site, he's just putting the new strips in a book. I'm all for it, I'm definitely a Lars fan.

The way he draws them girlies.... :drool:

How is it unfair? He's not taking down the strips from the site, he's just putting the new strips in a book. I'm all for it, I'm definitely a Lars fan.

I guess. But it just kinda feels like replacing Sebastian Shaw with Hayden Christensen.

I guess. But it just kinda feels like replacing Sebastian Shaw with Hayden Christensen.[/QUOTE]

Except Lars is good at what he does and the first artist was kinda sorta not. Doesn't diminish the work he's done, but seriously that's not a very good analogy.

Ross

Staff member
I can see why it's being done, but I can also see that it's kind of a dick move. If I'm the original artist, I would be thinking this was a big "we like you, but don't think you're good enough" and/or "we just wanted to make the entire comic consistent and went back to remedy the inconsistency in the art" from LICD.

Again, the original artwork was already released on the website and will not change. It also is immortalized in the original LICD books. This is more of a "remake" if nothingelse, a tribute even.