Export thread

New car tech questions

Dave

Dave

I’m getting a new car for various reasons. The car I’m looking at has a couple things I know about but don’t trust online explanations or ratings. I trust you guys.

I’ve never used Apple Play or OnStar before. Do you have experience with them and how do you like them? Are they worth the cost?

drifter

drifter

My current car has wired CarPlay, I mostly only use it when I need to use a map app. The extra screen size and integrated audio directions are nice. If you use your phone to listen to music, it's also nice. My previous car that didn't have CarPlay, I used the Aux In and a phone mount and managed without it. Is it worth the cost? Depends on how much it would be extra.

Lurker

Lurker

OnStar is typically a monthly subscription. CarPlay typically isn't, but might be an option at time of purchase. If you have an Apple phone, you can use its GPS maps for navigating and bypass the monthly subscription for OnStar and its map updates. Playing music or other CarPlay friendly apps is nice too.

Shakey

Shakey

I wouldn’t buy another car without CarPlay again. I use my phone for music/podcasts/directions, and it is a million times better than just Bluetooth.

OnStar is a hard pass. You’ll usually get a trial period of it though, so you can decide yourself.

Tinwhistler

Tinwhistler

I wouldn’t buy another car without CarPlay again. I use my phone for music/podcasts/directions, and it is a million times better than just Bluetooth.

OnStar is a hard pass. You’ll usually get a trial period of it though, so you can decide yourself.
Pretty much my feelings on the matter, though for me it's Android Auto and not CarPlay. When I bought my newest car, they didn't list whether smart phone integration was one of the features, and it was one of the first things I asked when I got to the lot.