Export thread

Tragic the Garnering

Limit: 500

Frank

Frank

Or as it is more colloquially known, Magic the Gathering.

I have been playing a fucking ridiculous amount of this stupid, addictive, expensive, predatory card game with my nerd friends. Even dragging my girlfriend kicking and screaming into it. She's even getting a hardcore edge to her. I quite literally just finished a 7 hour game session with 4 other guys. It was fun as hell.

I started playing it in junior high when Revised edition was the new thing but fell out of it pretty quickly, picking it up every once in a while over the years but never really getting quite into it. Last year I was introduced to some new friends and they were all hardcore into the game. I started out making fun of them for it but eventually relented playing one of their decks. A year later I have spent....too much. TOO GOD DAMN MUCH. But I love it.

I'm still pretty casual skill level wise but my deck building is getting good enough that I can hold my own against the most experienced player of the group more times than I don't and my decks are no longer 85 card unwieldy monsters and I have learned the art of separating the wheat from the chaff to create cohesive masterpieces.

Right now my most successful decks are a red/green Xenagos devotion deck and a mono-red token generating nightmare deck featuring Purphoros the face hurter.

So, there's got to be some Magic players on here, we're too nerdy a bunch for it to be possible otherwise.

Gilgamesh

Gilgamesh

Or as it is more colloquially known, Magic the Gathering.

I have been playing a fucking ridiculous amount of this stupid, addictive, expensive, predatory card game with my nerd friends. Even dragging my girlfriend kicking and screaming into it. She's even getting a hardcore edge to her. I quite literally just finished a 7 hour game session with 4 other guys. It was fun as hell.