Space stuff (NASA, UKSA, CSA, ESA, etc)

The SpaceX Transporter-2 launch this Friday (at 2:56 pm) is expected to have a landing at Canaveral instead of on a barge.
 

Pour out a cold one for the Arecibo radio telescope in Puerto Rico. You'd probably best know it as that thing that crushed Sean Bean at the end of Goldeneye.

1628038971982.png
 
Inspiration4 launches tomorrow from the Kennedy Space Center. The launch window opens at 8:02pm. If it launches at the start of the window (which is 5 hours long!), it will likely be visible at least as far away as the Carolinas. The last time we had a launch similar to this, the Crew-2 launch -- just before dawn, the view was pretty spectacular.
 
NASA's Lucy mission is launching soon to study the Trojan asteroids in the Lagrange points of the Jupiter-Sun orbit.


NASA hopes to launch Lucy on Saturday, October 16, at 5:34 a.m. EDT (2:34 a.m. PDT). The launch window will remain open until November 5, giving plenty of wiggle room in case of bad weather or other delays. Coverage will begin at 5:00 a.m. EDT (2:00 a.m. PDT) (Gizmodo)

 
Crew-2 astronauts return to Earth

A SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft splashed down late Nov. 8, returning four astronauts from the International Space Station after nearly 200 days in space.

The Crew Dragon spacecraft Endeavour splashed down in the Gulf of Mexico offshore from Pensacola, Florida, at 10:33 p.m. Eastern. The spacecraft reentry and splashdown went as planned. The spacecraft is expected to be brought on board a recovery vessel and the four astronauts inside extracted within about an hour. (SpaceNews)

The next mission to the space station, Crew-3, is currently scheduled to launch on Wednesday at 9:03pm EST. (SpaceflightNow) [There is a chance of rain in the area which may affect the launch. -em]
 
Top